• Creator
    Topic
    Avatar Of Jesse_Colosimojesse_colosimo
    Participant

Hello, I’m just getting into working with handtools and found this plane with some of my grandfathers things. I was hoping someone could help me figure out what model Stanley it is. The plane is 9.75” long. Markings of 10 1 X Q on the underside of the blade area. I’ve attached pictures. Thank you for your help, -Jesse

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
    • Avatar Of Joshua FarnsworthJoshua Farnsworth
      Keymaster

Not sure what the exact model is, but it’s definitely a later handplane, based on the lower quality materials they used. They used steel instead of brass for the screws, they used a folded metal lever, etc.

• Avatar Of `Janet Elmore`janet elmore

Hi !

I’m actually learning violin making in Switzerland. I both a Lie-Nielsen Plane number 101 (this is the one that are using fast every villain maker) and I won’t to buy another in a bigger size for preparing the wood and for other woodstuffs to. I think i’m gonna buy an old plane because i don’t have so much money and a lie nielsen or a veritas n4 coast a lot.(but I really don’t wont to buy a cheap one on dictum, i’m searching for quality).

So i’ve seen a lot of old planes on eBay and i found that.
      https://www.ebay.fr/itm/Stanley-Bailey-Plane-NO-4-1-2-Vintage-Patina-Tool-Hobbyist-Craftsman-941/174239918909?_trkparms=aid%3D777001%26algo%3DDISCO.FEED%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D20160801204525%26meid%3D751f5709a0eb470f8773417fff2cdacf%26pid%3D100651%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D1%26mehot%3Dnone%26itm%3D174239918909%26pmt%3D0%26noa%3D1%26pg%3D2380057%26algv%3DPersonalizedTopicsRefactor&_trksid=p2380057.c100651.m4497&_trkparms=pageci%3A6ac19184-7995-11ea-b608-fe36c0464145%7Cparentrq%3A59c9b52f1710a4b7b72bb916fff0900c%7Ciid%3A1
      I’m going anyway to make new handles in boxwood, make it flat and maybe change the blade. But I think you maybe can tell me more about the quality of this model so i’m asking for your opinion.