• Creator
    Topic
    Participant

Hi,

I am new to woodworking, and I have a few questions. Are there and brands for hand planes I should stay away from? I know Stanley’s are top of the line, but what are some good mid range or even entry level brands.

Thanks,
    Ivan

Viewing 12 reply threads
  • Author
    Replies
      Participant

Hand Plane Brands

First off, are you talking about vintage hand planes or new hand planes. Makes a BIG difference.

“Whether you think you can, or you can’t, you’re right.”
      -Henry Ford.

Participant

Hand Plane Brands

Ivan,

The name on the iron (blade) or bed of the plane is not as important as the construction of the plane. Most vintage planes constructed along the classic Bailey patent can be tuned to run just fine. Most modern plane manufacturers follow that pattern and are acceptable. If you are looking at new planes, quality runs pretty parallel to price. The more you pay for a new plane, the closer it will be ready to run out of the box. Lie Nielsen planes arrive ready to go, but you pay a premium for these heirloom quality tools. Veritas planes are pretty much ready to run out of the box. Bench Dog is close, maybe hone the blade a bit. There are more…